Beginner Sewing

During this six or eight-week beginner sewing course, students are taught to construct garments by learning basic sewing stitches and seam finishing techniques.

Five projects will be worked on throughout the course. These projects include:

  • Sewing sample book
  • Tote bag
  • Cushion cover with zipper
  • Sweatshirt
  • Sleeveless woven top (choose from one of two styles)

The instructor will work with each student based on personal skill level and preferred pace.

For a week-by-week schedule, please view the course outline.

All muslin included for all projects. Sewing kits and fabrics are not included but can be purchased at The Cutting Room for wholesale prices. See pricing details on our FAQ page.

Class Details

Start Dates (choose your preferred start date):

  • Monday, May 15
  • Saturday, May 27
  • Wednesday, May 24
  • Thursday, May 25
  • Wednesday, June 21
  • Tuesday, July 4
  • Thursday, July 6
  • Monday, July 17
  • Wednesday, July 19
  • Tuesday, September 12
  • Thursday, September 14

Length: 6 week or 8 week options available

Time: Afternoon and evening classes (see menu below for exact times)

Schedule: Classes run once per week, same day and time, for the duration of the course

Class Capacity: 6 students only

Age Range: Youth are welcome to take this course. Must be 8+ years of age.

8 Week Course is $525  6 Week Course is $325

Students will receive an official certificate from The Cutting Room upon completion of this course.

Also of interest: Intermediate Sewing or Advanced Sewing

Vancouver
Apply Coupon
Cost (Choose Dates)

“I learned much more than I’d ever hoped to. I made a tote bag in my very first class!”

– Syahidah Ismail, Sewing Course Graduate, Summer 2016

Instructor: Quyem Lam

Quyem Lam has sewn professionally for over 40 years. She has worked for some of the leading labels in North America including Umbro, Intrawest, Nicole Bridger, Sitka and more. Quyem can teach anyone to sew. Plus, she’s a lot of fun! Learn invaluable tips and tricks, how to sew like a professional as well as how to read patterns from the best sewer around.  

Menu
Social